Yeast Risen Doughnuts

This weekend was my first foray into fried doughnuts (I’ve only tried baked before). I opted for the yeast risen doughnuts from my KAF cookbook (This is the same recipe). A few notes on my variations:

20160626_173412

  • I opted for buttermilk over regular milk as part of my goal was to use up some buttermilk I had on hand. 
  • I did the first rise for about an hour and 20 minutes and then left it covered in the fridge overnight. 
  • Don’t roll too thin, the parts of the dough that were flatter turned out flat-ish doughnuts, so it’s fine to have it a little thicker even if it doesn’t yield all 16.
  • I used the top of a pint glass to cut round doughnuts with no holes because I was planning on filling them.
  • The second rise took a lot longer than listed, maybe because I had cooled the dough in the fridge? I think to get the doughnuts to twice their bulk on the second rise I waited more like 2-2.5 hours.
  • I used canola oil for frying.

The doughnuts themselves turned out great! Not having the non-buttermilk version to compare to, but the dough was good. I had a hard time controlling the oil temperature, so they tended to cook faster than intended, but that was fine with me. 

I just sort of made up fillings with what I had on hand. For the lemon one I whipped about 1 cup heavy cream into whipped cream (just the cream, no sugar), and then folded in probably 1/2-2/3 cup lemon curd. So yummy I had a hard time not eating it all! I just drizzled a basic confectioners sugar/milk glaze on top and sprinkled with my KAF coconut sugar. 

20160626_173814

For the peanut butter I started with about a half cup cream, quarter cup PB, and cup confectioners sugar, but ended up adding more PB to taste. I heated up some Nutella for the top and spread it on with my angled spatula.

20160626_173603

Actually filling the doughnuts was harder than I thought it would be. I used my piping bag with a fat round tip, but had to slice little openings in the side of the doughnut to get the tip in there. The ones that were thick enough and well shaped filled easily, but some of the less evenly sized ones were trickier. Sometimes I would try to put so much filling in it would pop out of the other side! But I like a lot of filling, so it was fine. All I’m all these were delish!

Leave a Reply

